Graves a Few Days Before Thanksgiving

November 29, 2011

Graves a few days before Thanksgiving. 2011.

My mother and I both always enjoyed walking around cemeteries.  We loved to read the tombstones, look at the flowers, and enjoy the silence.

I took this photograph of my mother’s grave a few days before Thanksgiving.  I love all the color on her grave and how beautiful the mountain looks in the distance.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted here, partially because toddler hood keeps me running and also because sometimes I don’t have much to say.

I really enjoyed the silence in the cemetery that day, and I am so appreciative of all the flowers friends and family continue to leave at my mother’s grave.

4 Responses to “Graves a Few Days Before Thanksgiving”

  1. Jo Johns said

    Meredith, what a peaceful site. Thanks for sharing

  2. Rebecca Seay said

    I drove out to the cemetary to see what had been placed on your mother’s grave. The colors were pretty. Sometimes I feel better after going out there, and sometimes I don’t. I guess, mostly it just makes me sad. I miss her every day of my life. I could go on and on, but I won’t. Not good for you or me. I love you all.
    Becca

  3. denise taylor said

    I know the emptiness your mother’s death left in your life. I’m sorry your children will never know her wonderful presence. She was truly a remarkable person! I’ve found that writing about my own mother’s death helps me to “deal” with that loss. Perhaps some of your mother’s close friends would write a little note or share a special memory of your mother for your boys to cherish when they are older. Love you! Denise

  4. Jo Ann said

    I love Denise’s suggestion…that would be a gift to you, and to them…perhaps you could incorporate that idea with a scrapbook? Although I did not know your Mom, I feel like I do, through the wonderful person you are, Meredith…she is living on!

    Your Mom’s gravesite reminds me of my own Mom’s, with the mountains in the background, etc. For some reason, that is just so nurturing to me to have those mountains as the backdrop for my parents’ graves…it speaks to me of them and their love of nature,and knowing what I know about your Mom, her love of flowers, etc., it must be special to you, too.

    Sending love to you, and gratitude that you share thru these “Bittersweets.”

Leave a Reply

