As a Mother of Two Boys, I Love This Story.

January 6, 2012

A friend of mine posted a link to this story.  I loved it so much I thought I’d pass it on.  I don’t know a thing about this blogger or video games,  but I love the crux of the story and hope we’re raising sons who’ll have similar characteristics:  the bravery to be themselves and the willingness to stand up for others who are being themselves.

Here’s the first part of the blog, with a link to the full story.

Yesterday I had a pair of brothers in my store. One was maybe between 15-17. He was a wrestler at the local high school. Kind of tall, stocky and handsome. He had a younger brother, who was maybe about 10-12 years old. Thy were talking about finding a game for the younger one, and he was absolutely insisting it be one with a female charcter. I don’t know how many of y’all play games, but that isn’t exactly easy. Eventually, I helped the brothers pick a game called Mirror’s Edge. The youngest was pretty excited about the game, and then he specifically asked me.. “Do you have any girl color controllers?”

I directed him to the only colored controllers we have which includes pink and purple ones. He grabbed the purple one, and informed me purple was his FAVORITE.

Continue reading here: http://mohandasgandhi.tumblr.com/post/15242464246/dear-customer-who-stuck-up-for-his-little-brother

Leave a Reply

