Snail as Mountain Lion Music

February 22, 2012

That's my dog, Elsie. She's amazing.

Since this is my more personal blog and it’s kind of evolving as I do more writing and what not, I thought I’d put up some my music recordings up here.

Via my work as a oral historian and folklorist, I often write about other’s people’s music. But every so often I play a little (nothing too fancy) and recently started gathering up my older recordings and some new ones, and put them on a Sound Cloud  page.

I used to play with the bands Woods Afire and Early Morning Bourbon Girls, and one of these days I am going to get those recordings up as well.  They’re more polished and have a band.  But these are the messy things I record in my living room, little songs I write about dead animals, people I miss, the moon, stuff like that.  They’re super rough and as lo fi as can be.  I’m not a great guitar player and I don’t practice like I should.  I just like to sometimes write songs.  They’re all works in progress and will hopefully someday be recorded with more layers, like timpanis and a chorus of crickets. There’s some possibility of starting a new band.  We’ll see how that goes.

Here’s one called “Red Flower,” a little bit more straightforward than my usual songs, but I’ve gotten some complements so I’ll put it here. You can listen to the rest here.

https://player.soundcloud.com/player.swf?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F36478896 Red Flower by Snail as Mountain Lion

Leave a Reply

